The Palio is a horse race that happens twice a year, once in July and once in August. It is festival that has it's roots in the Medieval period and has been continued to the present day. As I might have mentioned previously, the city is divided up into 17 contradas each with their own distinct mascot. They are Aquila (Eagle), Bruco (Caterpillar), Chiocciola (Snail), Civetta (Owl), Drago (Dragon), Giraffa (Giraffe), Istrice (Porcupine), Leocorno (Unicorn), Lupa (She-Wolf), Nicchio (Seashell), Oca (Goose), Onda (Wave), Pantera (Panther), Selva (Forest), Tartuca (Tortoise), Torre (Tower), Valdimontone (Ram). Each contrada has allies and enemies among the other contradas.
Of the 17 contradas only 10 will race in the Palio on Tuesday (Leocorno, Nicchio, Torre, Valdimontone, Civetta, Istrice, Lupa, Pantera, Oca and Onda). Today was the first day of Pre-Palio events. This morning 30 horses were brought out for trial runs so that each contrada could choose the best horses. Then around 1:30 or 2 they had the lottery that decided which contrada got which horse and which starting position in the race on Tuesday. Lots of people came out for the choosing of the horses and as each contrada entered the Campo they sang their contrada "fight" song.
Later this evening, around 7:45 the first Prova was held. Provas are like trial runs where the jockey's just run the horses around the track. They can run them hard or just hold back and get comfortable on the horse. The Provas do not count for anything, they are just like warm up trials before the real thing on Tuesday. There will be three or four more Provas before the Palio. This time the whole city came out and filled the Campo, sat in the stands that have been set up in front of the shops and cafes, and stood on balconies all around the Campo for a glimpse of this first Prova. Before it even started, there were cheers made and songs sung across the Campo. When the race started, everyone watched closely as the jockeys and horses rounded the track three times.
That is basically what we spent our day doing, in between events I took a nap and did a little tiny bit of school work. And Steph and I had Chinese for dinner. So yummy and a great change from Italian! It was so fun to see the the whole city come out today and be so excited about the Palio. I am looking forward to the next few days of festivities!!
Until next time, ciao!!
P.S. I'll have more picture for you tomorrow. The internet is being too slow for me to wait on it tonight!



No comments:
Post a Comment