Template

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Our Own Sort of Scavenger Hunt - Part 2

Good Morning! Sorry there was no post last night, I was too tired to get anything together and then wait for the pictures to upload. So here it is more on our scavenger hunt yesterday.

We got an early yesterday and went to a morning Prova for the first time. Much more enjoyable than the night ones only because it was much less crowded, but more on Pre-Palio and Palio later. Steph and I started off and hit all the rest of the contradas (12) yesterday; Bruco (Caterpillar), Civetta (Owl), Drago (Dragon), Giraffa (Giraffe), Istrice (Porcupine), Leocorno (Unicorn), Lupa (She-Wolf), Nicchio (Seashell), Oca (Goose), Selva (Forest), Torre (Tower), Valdimontone (Ram). We spent the whole morning wandering the city trying to the fountains but alas we couldn't find all of them. We still have to find Bruco, Civetta, Giraffa, Istrice, Lupa and Selva. That means part 3 is coming your way sometime soon!! (Because I had so many photos of our day - 70 something - I made a facebook album so go take a look here.)

Around noon we were starving so we walked home to go to the grocery store but it was randomly closed for a few hours. Instead we found a little pasta place up the street from us and had our new favorite kind of pasta, Pici (pronounces "peachy"). YUM!






We had class later that afternoon and met at St. Catherine's house and then went to see her basilica. She is the patron saint of Siena, Italy and the EU, so she was pretty important. She was a sort of mystical saint performing miracles and having visions, but was also a very headstrong woman. She is impressive as she made a name for herself and held a great deal of influence in a time women did not do that. Unfortunately at this point in our touring, my camera died so I don't have any pictures of St. Catherines to share, but they would have only been of the outside since photos were not allowed inside.

Later that night we went to the last Prova before the Palio and then to dinner at a cute little restaurant called Nona Gina's with Jessie, Jon and April. They didn't speak much English so it was an authentic Italian dinner! Then we ended up sitting in the Campo for a while just talking and laughing.

I'll be back later with the results of the Palio!

For now, Ciao!



No comments:

Post a Comment